Traffic Ticket Violations

Everyone knows that convictions for traffic offenses can have negative effects on your insurance. Most people do not realize that certain traffic offenses in Virginia can also cause you to have a criminal record. One of the most surprising aspects of Virginia traffic law is the law with respect to reckless driving. Under Virginia law, any speed over 80 mph is considered reckless driving, regardless of the manner in which the person charged was driving. This charge is a class one misdemeanor in Virginia which is punishable by up to 12 months in jail, up to a $2500 fine, up to a six-month suspension of your driving privilege, and six points. Most people would never conceive of the possibility that they could be exposed to 12 months in jail for going 11 miles over the speed limit on the interstate. This is a good example of why you should consult counsel on these types of cases. Oftentimes, the consequences of these convictions go beyond what you would normally expect. The point system in Virginia is harsher than many states as well. In Virginia, a conviction of 1 to 9 mph over the speed limit is three points; 10 to 19 is four points. As stated above, reckless driving is six points.

We also handle related DUI and personal injury suits.